Steel-Cut Oats

I’m pretty good at sticking to oatmeal for breakfast, unless we have company or are traveling. In that case I’ve been known to eat donuts more than usual. I love donuts. Give me a moment…

A couple of years ago a stumbled upon steel-cut oats. In a nut shell steel-cut oats are less processed, more nutrient dense per serving, have a thicker/nuttier/chewier texture, and tend to cause a lower spike in blood sugar over instant oatmeal. They also take a while to cook, or it seems like a while in the world of fast food and microwaves. I’ve seen recipes that require 40 minutes but I seem to do fine with 20-30. It helps me if I make 4-5 servings at a time. One cup of steel-cut oats makes 4 one cup servings of cooked oats.

Here’s how I usually make mine:

  • 1 cup steel-cut oats
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1 Tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 Tablespoon vanilla

Bring water and oats to a rolling boil; reduce heat and let simmer 10-15 minutes.  Add milk, cinnamon and vanilla and simmer another 10-15 minutes. (I usually go with 10 minutes on each step, I like my oats a little chewier.) The oats will to continue to soak up the liquid during cooling. Yields 4 servings.

Nutritional information for the recipe is listed above (per serving) with the help of an excel sheet and  NutritionData.com:

Calories:187  Fat:4  Sat Fat:1  Cholesterol:4  Sodium:30  Carb:30  Fiber:5  Protein:9

I usually add a couple of Tablespoons of slivered almonds or walnut and a 1/2-1 teaspoon of brown sugar.

3 Comments

Filed under Edible Stuffs

3 responses to “Steel-Cut Oats

  1. This sounds yummy. I do like oatmeal but I’m bad at having stuff that actually requires prep time. I’m a big cereal and/or yogurt every morning girl. Does it reheat well?

  2. It reheats really well! I zap it for about 40 seconds @ 75% (we have a super microwave), add the brown sugar and nuts then zap another 4o seconds. It’s not burn your mouth hot and other than being a little thicker, isn’t different than the 1st day’s.

  3. I’m definitely trying this. Thanks for posting about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

