The Race Report

Done!

I ate 2 slices of toast with pb and homemade strawberry-rhubarb jam and a glass of water at 6:30, we headed out at 7:15 and arrived around 8:20. About an hour before the race was to start. I found I nice front row far end spot to put my bike and lay out my towel. Then I went to check out my swim time, pace and pee nothing repeatedly for the next 50 minutes.

We all gathered across from the transition area where I noticed that I was the only one who did not have their cycle shoes and helmet already on. Even though I had time to get them, I decided that I would keep it that way. When I come out of the water at Rigby I won’t have them on, this would be good practice. My swim time put me at the back of the pack. I would say I was in the last dozen.

They started the clock with the fastest swimmer’s time (7:47!) and then we all waited for our times to show up. When I saw mine I ran over to my bike and fumbled with my helmet and shoes while mumbling things to myself under my breath about what the heck was I thinking. I may or may not have almost cried out of anxiety and a wee bit o’fear. Then I was off. The course description says 12 miles, when I plot it I come up with just over 10.5. Whatever. I rode it and it was a the best ride I’ve had this season. It was an almost windless ride and the sun was shining. I felt very comfortable in what I was wearing except for cold toes even with the covers, should be an easy fix.  The last 1/4 mile of the ride back was up hill and I felt it. I didn’t stop pedaling but my gears were definitely shifted and my speed slowed. A lot.  At one point I told the guy passing me that it sucked. It really didn’t, I was just expressing feelings about my lack of umph getting up that hill. I passed a few people in this leg. Final bike time 38:29.

I jumped off the bike and slipped my bike shoes off and my running shoes on then realized that I had forgotten to take of the pants that I was wearing for warmth on the ride but were too big to run in so I had to take my shoes back off. Shoes back on, jacket off, iPod on and go! I think I did pretty good on the run. I couldn’t feel my toes which was alarming and distracting. I kept wondering if I might be damaging them since they felt like little hard masses in my shoes.  I walked most of the way up the hills which was disappointing but it’s something to work into my training. Those people I passed? Most of them passed me back in this leg. Final run time 32:38.

Final race time 1:31:52.

I did better than I expected and now I have a time to beat for next year. I learned where some weaknesses are so I can set goals to work on them.  I also learned that I need to stop doubting myself so much.

4 Comments

Filed under Random Bits

4 responses to “The Race Report

  1. Awesome, awesome, AWESOME!

    You should feel so proud of yourself! I’m very intimidated by tris, and am too lame to attempt one just yet.

  2. Amanda

    That last sentence says it all. I’m glad to hear that you’re starting to see how awesome you are too. 🙂

    You did an awesome job! Like I said earlier, I’m so incredibly proud of you!

  3. So fantastic! I love your last sentence.

Leave a Reply

